

Annual General Meeting - Wednesday 22nd May 2024, at 5.30pm

The Mathematical Association of Victoria, Cliveden, 61 Blyth Street, Brunswick 3056

online

Quorum required: 20 members entitled to vote

Members present: Kate Copping, Scott Cameron Ellen Corovic, Aylie Davidson, Ferhan Dogan, Ann Downton, Adrienne English, Helen Haralambous, Marj Horne, Jessica Kurzman, David Leigh-Lancaster, Sharyn Livy, Allason McNamara, Patrick Mete, Robert Money, Simon Pryor, Peter Sanders, Kerryn Sandford, Carly Sawatzki, Matt Sexton, Dianne Siemon, Paul Staniscia, Max Stephens, Peter Sullivan, Colleen Vale

Members online: Andrea O'Connor, Justin de Lacy

Company Secretary: Jennifer Bowden

Returning officer: Claire Embregts

Apologies: Roger Walter, Louise Gray, Mei Ong, Elizabeth Burns, Peter Karakousiss

Also present: Leonie Anstey, Danijela Draskovic, Derek Holton, Renee Ladner, Larissa Raymond

Darinka Rob, Peter Saffin, Tenille Saffin, Justine Sakurai,

Meeting began at 5:35

1. Welcome and Introduction

The CEO, Jennifer Bowden, welcomed attendees to the meeting, and provided an overview of the work of the Association over the past 12 months.

Kerryn Sandford officially opened the AGM and noted that a quorum of 32 was achieved with 30 present and 2 members online.

2. Minutes of previous Annual General Meeting

Motion: That the minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the members of The Mathematical Association of Victoria, held on Tuesday 23rd May 2023, be accepted as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Max Stephens Seconded: Kate Copping

Votes: 27 For: 26 Against: 0 Abstained: 1

Result: The motion was carried.

3. Annual Report, including the President's Report

The President, Kerryn Sandford, tabled and spoke to the Annual Report of the Association. She reported on the diverse activities of the Association over the past 12 months, and thanked the Board, CEO Jennifer Bowden and the MAV staff for their work and commitment over this time.

Motion: That the 2023 to 2024 Annual Report of The Mathematical Association of Victoria be received.

Moved: David Leigh-Lancaster Seconded: Ann Downton

Votes: 28 For: 28 Against: 0 Abstained: 0

Result: The motion was carried.

4. Finance Report

The Treasurer, Mei Ong, tabled and spoke to the Financial Report of the Association, and responded to some general questions.

Motion: That the 2023 to 2024 Finance Report of The Mathematical Association of Victoria be received.

Noted: The Finance Report would be presented with more detail in 2025.

Moved: Marj Horne Seconded: Kate Copping

Votes: 28 For: 28 Against: 0 Abstained: 4

Result: The motion was carried.

5. Appointment of Nominated Directors to the MAV Board

The President, Kerryn Sandford, notified the meeting that there were 9 nominations for the Board, for the 10 positions available. Therefore, according to the constitution the 9 nominees are automatically appointed as follows:

- Ann Downton
- Adreienne English
- Andrea O'Connor
- Jessica Kurzman
- Justin DeLacy
- Matthew Sexton
- Patrick Mette
- Paul Stansicia
- Scott Cameron

6. Thank you to former Directors for their service.

The President, Kerryn Sandford, thanked those Directors retiring or completing their 6-year terms at this election:

- Kate Copping, whose 6-year term is complete
- Max Stephens, whose 6-year term is complete

• Mei Ong, whose 2-year term is complete

7. Life members:

Max Stephens inducted Peter Saffin and Helen Haralambous as Life Members. This had previously been formally approved by the board and accepted by Helen and Peter. Both Helen and Peter graciously accepted their nominations and shared their anecdotes.

8. Strategic Plan

Jennifer Bowden launched the 2024–2026 Strategic Plan, which had previously been formally endorsed by the board. She shared the process of creating the new plan and its key elements.

9. Meeting Closed 6:27

There being no further business, the President, Kerryn Sandford thanked everyone for attending, and declared the meeting closed at 6.27pm.